UTK Alumni Board of Directors honors new award winners

UT Knoxville has graduated more than 220,000 men and women in its 216-year history. These graduates have gone on to become the builders of our society, contributing to the education, cultural diversity, and business success of the cities, states, and nations of our world.

On Friday, September 10, 12 alumni were added to the ranks of alumni award winners. Alumni received recognition in three categories: Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna, Alumni Promise, and Alumni Service.


Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Awards

Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award recipients

Pictured above, L-R: Alan Wilson (President, UTK Alumni Board), Joel Katz, Bill Stokely III, Nancy-Ann DeParle, John Cullum, Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek, Joe Johnson (President Emeritus, University of Tennessee), Jan Simek (Interim President, University of Tennessee)

The Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award recognizes those alumni who have attained extraordinary distinction and success in their chosen field of endeavor and have contributed to the betterment of their fellow citizens. By doing so, they have brought credit and acclaim to the University of Tennessee and have benefited society at large. This is the highest alumni award given, and it pays tribute to outstanding leadership, service, and philanthropy.

2010 Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award Winners

  • John Cullum—BA, 1953, Liberal Arts – Speech and Theatre
  • Nancy-Ann DeParle—BA, 1978, Liberal Arts – College Scholars Program
  • Joel Katz—LLB, 1969, Law
  • William B. Stokely III—BS, 1963, Business Administration – Retailing


Alumni Service Awards

Alumni Service Award recipients

Pictured above, L-R: Alan Wilson, Joe Crafton, Dean Skadberg, Michael Strickland, Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek

The Alumni Service Award recognizes exceptional service or long-term continuing service and leadership to the University of Tennessee. It is designed to publicly acknowledge individuals or organizations who have given significant amounts of time, talent, or resources to their alma mater.

2010 Alumni Service Award Winners

  • Joe R. Crafton Jr.—BS, 1984, Business Administration – Marketing
  • Michael T. Strickland—BS, 1977, Business Administration – General Business
  • A. Dean Skadberg—BS, 1961, Business Administration – Marketing


Alumni Promise Awards

Alumni Promise Award recipients

Pictured above, L-R: Alan Wilson, Greg Cox, Nick Dryden, Jason Houser, Crista Martinez Padua, Jennifer Stanley, and Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek

The Alumni Promise Award recognizes alumni 40 years of age or younger who have demonstrated distinctive achievement in their career, civic involvement, or both. This award is presented to acknowledge alumni who are making a mark early in their career and show great promise for the future.

2010 Alumni Promise Award Winners

  • Gregory E. Cox Jr.—BS, 1995, Business Administration – Accounting; MAC, 1996, Business Administration – Accounting
  • Nick Dryden—BARCH, 1995, Architecture
  • Jason Houser—BA, 2002, Arts & Sciences – Sociology
  • Crista Martinez Padua—BA, 1992, Liberal Arts – Psychology; MS, 1996, Social Work
  • Jennifer S. Stanley—BA, 1995, Arts & Sciences – Political Science

Nominations for all awards are accepted from alumni, staff, and friends of the University of Tennessee. When nomination is open, forms can be found on the Tennessee Alumni website at alumni.utk.edu/awards. Nominations for the 2011 awards will be accepted from November 2010 until February 2011.

Contact the UTK Office of Alumni Affairs at 865-974-3011 for more information.

You may also like


walter palmer September 15, 2010 - 9:51 am

Nice to recogize some UT people instead of the usual and repetitive accolades given to the jocks, and i see from the internet that Mr. Pearlis entitled to congrats for the fine job he has done in terms of ethics and honesty, as a representataive of UT. It is really sad that UT will never be able to get beyond the worship of athletes who have caused much tarnish (i.e.basketball player incident) to the reputation of UT which should rest on those who have been outstanding students and alum.

Walter Palmer (would be nice to see some discussion of the above because i think many UT alums agree that the athletic situation there leaves something to be desired in terms of being the only “game” in town)

Sandy Lassiter September 15, 2010 - 10:25 am

What is the selection criteria for these awards? How are alumni nominated?

admin September 15, 2010 - 12:48 pm

Hi Sandy,

Thanks for your question!

Criteria vary from award to award, but nominations for all awards may be made by any person using the official nomination forms. Also, current alumni board members and UT staff are not eligible to receive awards. Awards are selected by a committee consisting of Alumni Board of Directors and faculty members.

We’ll be opening up nominations for next year’s awards in November. At that time, nomination forms will be linked from the Alumni Awards website, http://alumni.utk.edu/awards.

Last year’s award criteria are listed below, as they appeared on the nomination forms.

Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna criteria:
Must be an alumnus/alumna of the Knoxville campus of The University of Tennessee
Must have received national or international attention
Must have attained a level of extraordinary distinction and accomplishment in his/her field
Must have demonstrated achievements that have brought credit to The University of Tennessee
Must have demonstrated leadership and service to his/her community and society at large

Alumni Service Award criteria:
Must be an alumnus/alumna of the Knoxville campus of The University of Tennessee
Must have contributed significant amounts of time and resources to the betterment of the university
Must have exhibited a passion for the institution through their long time association with the institution

Alumni Promise Award criteria:
Must be an alumnus/alumna of the Knoxville campus of The University of Tennessee
Must have achieved a marked level of success in their chosen field
Must have brought credit to The University of Tennessee through their career and/or community achievements
Must be 40 years of age or less at time of award presentation

Torchbearer Staff

Kim Scholes September 15, 2010 - 12:51 pm

Way to go classmate, Joe Crafton!!! Once a leader, always a leader!

Comments are closed.